News - 2018 Archive
  • January 31, 2018

    Redskins Finish Regional Runner-up in State Duals


    January 31, 2018

    Springfield, OH-The varsity Wrestling team defeated Urbana 45-28 Wednesday to advance to the finals of the OHSAA Region 16 State Duals against Washington Courthouse Miami Trace. In the opener, Urbana forfeited four weight classes while the Redskins forfeited two making for a short match. Keaton Elling, Luke Beach, Jacob Schlesselman, and Brenan Knueve all recorded wins for Wapak.

    In the Championship, the Redskins won seven of the eleven matches wrestled, but as it has all season, voids cost the team dearly. The Redskins spotted Miami Trace 18 points and were unable to make up the difference, falling 36-39 to the Panthers. Bryce Knapke, Beach, Schlesselman, Zach Miller, Evan Kaeck, and Knueve all won their respective matches.

    Miami Trace defeated Springfield Northwestern 41-30 to advance to the championship against Wapak. Miami Trace will face top seeded Wauseon on February 11 at St. John Arena in Columbus.

    Wapakoneta 45   Urbana 28

    106: Bryce Knapke (WAPA) over (URBA) (For.)

    113: Jayden Sturgell (URBA) over (WAPA) (For.)

    120: Keaton Elling (WAPA) over Lucas Chess (URBA) (Fall 2:26)

    126: Luke Beach (WAPA) over Dominick Williams (URBA) (Fall 1:14)

    132: Gavyn Grim (URBA) over Bradley Hicks (WAPA) (Fall 0:42)

    138: Jacob Schlesselman (WAPA) over Daniel Westcott (URBA) (Dec 12-10)

    145: Taylor Stewart (URBA) over (WAPA) (For.)

    152: Damion Williams (URBA) over Brad Beemer (WAPA) (MD 13-4)

    160: Trey Williams (URBA) over Elyjah Roa (WAPA) (Dec 6-5)

    170: Luis Ramirez (URBA) over Koleman Brown (WAPA) (Dec 5-2)

    182: Conner Barnett (WAPA) over (URBA) (For.)

    195: Zach Miller (WAPA) over (URBA) (For.)

    220: Evan Kaeck (WAPA) over (URBA) (For.)

    285: Brenan Knueve (WAPA) over Austin Fisher (URBA) (Fall 0:16)


    Miami Trace 39  Wapakoneta 36

    106: Bryce Knapke (WAPA) over Titus Lehr (MITR) (Fall 0:26)

    113: Graham Carson (MITR) over (WAPA) (For.)

    120: Storm Duffy (MITR) over Keaton Elling (WAPA) (For.)

    126: Luke Beach (WAPA) over Mcale Callahan (MITR) (UTB 7-6)

    132: Wes Gandee (MITR) over Bradley Hicks (WAPA) (Fall 0:37)

    138: Jacob Schlesselman (WAPA) over Dawson Wallace (MITR) (Fall 1:22)

    145: Jaymon Flaugher (MITR) over (WAPA) (For.)

    152: Jotham Lewis (MITR) over (WAPA) (For.)

    160: Elyjah Roa (WAPA) over Dylan Arnold (MITR) (Dec 10-7)

    170: Jacob Tinkler (MITR) over Koleman Brown (WAPA) (Dec 10-5)

    182: Jack Anders (MITR) over Cooper Talowsky (WAPA) (Fall 0:31)

    195: Zach Miller (WAPA) over David Tyndall (MITR) (Fall 0:51)

    220: Evan Kaeck (WAPA) over Dalton Bartley (MITR) (Fall 3:33)

    285: Brenan Knueve (WAPA) over Grant Debruin (MITR) (Fall 1:03)