• February 26, 2019

    Wapak Advances Six to District


    February 23, 2109

    Napoleon, OH- The Wapakoneta Wrestling Team advanced six Wrestlers to next weekend's District Tournament at Norwalk after fininshing in 3rd place as a Team at the Napoleon Sectional. The top 4 in each weight class at the District will advance to the State Tournament March 7-9 at Ohio State's Schottenstein Center.

    The Redskins finished the tournament behind Champion Wauseon ans Runner-up Napoleon. dvancing of for Wapakoneta are Sophomore Jacob Schlesselman (152lbs) and Junior Keaton Elling (126lbs) who both finished in fourth place, Sophomore Colin Mellott (106lbs) and Senior Luke Beach (138lbs) who both finished in second place, and Seniors Dylan Plaugher (195lbs) and Brennen Knueve (285lbs) who both finished as Sectional Champions. Rounding out the placer for Wapak were Freshmen Gavin Hall (120lbs) and Cael Rostorfer (220lbs) as well as Sophomore Bryce Knapke (113lbs) who all finished in sixth place.


    Sect. Tournament: Div. II - Napoleon
    Napoleon High School, Napoleon, OH
    February 22 - 23, 2019

    1. Wauseon 240.5  
    2. Napoleon 156.0  
    3. Wapakoneta 149.5  
    4. Defiance 138.0  
    5. St. Marys Memorial 137.5  
    6. Otsego 120.0  
    7. Celina 96.0  
    8. Van Wert 87.0  
    9. Bath 85.5  
    10. Elida 69.0  
    11. Lima Shawnee 63.0  
    12. Bryan 34.0  
    First Place
    106 Damon Molina (Wauseon) dec. Colin Mellott (Wapakoneta)   4-2
    113 Jake Manley (Otsego) dec. Caleb Hernandez (Napoleon)   5-2
    120 Gavin Ritter (Wauseon) dec. Juan Perez (Defiance)   11-4
    126 Nolan Ray (Wauseon) dec. Zane Hull (Napoleon)   6-3
    132 Cameron Pollard (Otsego) dec. Tristan Villarreal (Defiance)   5-4
    138 Gabe Steyer (Van Wert) dec. Luke Beach (Wapakoneta)   5-0
    145 Isaiah Bretz (Van Wert) dec. Jesse Wright (Otsego)   10-7
    152 Jacob Hatchett (Defiance) dec. Lane Crossland (Napoleon)   8-2
    160 Tommy Mabry (St. Marys Memorial) dec. Malachi Battle (Van Wert)   9-6
    170 Xavier Torres (Wauseon) pin Clay Adlesh (Lima Shawnee)   3:58
    182 Luke Muhlenkamp (Celina) dec. Dylan McCandless (Bryan)   7-5
    195 Trevor Plaugher (Wapakoneta) pin Fielden Deeds (Bath)   2:18
    220 Aaron Harris (Wauseon) tech. fall Eric Adkins (Bath)   tf20-5
    285 Brenan Knueve (Wapakoneta) pin Jonah Schlegel (Defiance)   0:22
    Third Place
    106 Tyler Hisey (St. Marys Memorial) tech. fall Ezekiel Burkholder (Bath)   tf18-2
    113 Spencer Martinez (Wauseon) dec. Trevor Hisey (St. Marys Memorial)   7-3
    120 Clayton Drummond (St. Marys Memorial) maj. dec. Cory Beach (Lima Shawnee)   md16-2
    126 Conner Douglass (Elida) dec. Keaton Elling (Wapakoneta)   6-3
    132 Connor Twigg (Wauseon) pin Dalton Swickrath (Elida)   3:44
    138 Bailey Gibson (Elida) dec. Ian Kress (Otsego)   5-3
    145 Tyler Bostelman (Napoleon) pin Aric Gallimore (Celina)   4:09
    152 Ethan Glover (Wauseon) dec. Jacob Schlesselman (Wapakoneta)   7-6
    160 Cole Steele (Otsego) dec. Austin Valdez (Napoleon)   6-3
    170 Noah Vogel (St. Marys Memorial) dec. Logan Muhlenkamp (Celina)   6-0
    182 Zachary Simpson (Bath) pin Mason Saeler (St. Marys Memorial)   2:18
    195 Wesley Jeffries-Babcock (Napoleon) dec. Drew Krall (Wauseon)   8-1
    220 Adalberto Vega (Defiance) pin Demitrius Hernandez (Napoleon)   4:15
    285 Samuel Sosa (Wauseon) pin Carter Butler (Bath)   1:53
    Fifth Place
    106 Gavino Martinez (Defiance) def. Jordan Bobay (Napoleon)   Default
    113 Killian Sudduth (Van Wert) dec. Bryce Knapke (Wapakoneta)   7-5
    120 Landon Engle (Celina) pin Gavin Hall (Wapakoneta)   3:44
    126 Lupe Martinez (Defiance) dec. Sam Warner (Celina)   5-2
    132 Kody Boehm (Napoleon) pin Mason Adlesh (Lima Shawnee)   1:33
    138 Caleb Sell (Napoleon) pin Hunter Grunden (Defiance)   1:03
    145 Trent Fairburn (Lima Shawnee) maj. dec. Michael Waite (Wauseon)   md10-1
    152 Ethan Ly (Celina) def. Parker Wiechart (St. Marys Memorial)   Default
    160 Wyatt Lane (Wauseon) pin Austin Kundtz (Celina)   0:34
    170 Lawrence Slygh (Elida) dec. Angelo Gonzalez (Defiance)   4-2 OT
    182 Jaxon Radabaugh (Wauseon) forfeit Thomas Williamson (Elida)   Forfeit
    195 Lloyd Eutsler (Van Wert) maj. dec. Joey Hale (Lima Shawnee)   md20-10
    220 Cade Limes (Otsego) pin Cael Rostorfer (Wapakoneta)   2:58
    285 Nicholas Myers (St. Marys Memorial) pin Carter Hoffman (Bryan)   4:40